Skip to content

Main Navigation

FACULTY

Scott L. Anderson

Nanoscale surface chemistry, catalysis, nanoparticles, surface analysis

Phone: (801) 585-7289
Office: 1224 HEB

anderson@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Peter B. Armentrout

Mass spectrometry to study thermochemistry and dynamics of chemical reactions

Phone: (801) 581-7885
Office: 3402 TBBC
armentrout@chemistry.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Vahe Bandarian

Vahe Bandarian

Enzymology and biosynthetic pathways, biosynthesis of complex natural products

Phone: (801) 581-6366
Office: 3627 TBBC
vahe@chem.utah.edu

 Faculty Page

Bethany Buck-Koehntop

Structure-function relationships in biointeractions, biophysics and molecular biology

Phone: (801) 581-3186
Office: 1493 Gauss Haus
koehntop@chem.utah.edu

 Faculty Page

Cynthia J. Burrows

Nucleic acid chemistry, oxidative DNA damage, DNA in protein nanopores

Phone: (801) 585-7290
Office: 1625 TBBC
burrows@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

John C. Conboy

Nonlinear optical spectroscopy to study solid/liquid and liquid/liquid interfaces

Phone: (801) 585-7957
Office: 2532 TBBC
conboy@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Richard D. Ernst

Pentadienyl complexes of transition metals, bonding, useful reaction chemistry

Phone: (801) 581-8639
Office: 2166 HEB
ernst@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Gina Frey

Gina F. Frey

Chemistry Education developing active-learning and collaborative strategies. 

Phone: (801) 581-8884
Office: 4402 Thatcher Building

gina.frey@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Michael Grünwald

Computer simulation and theory of the dynamics and interactions of nanoparticles

Phone: (801) 581-8023
Office: 4625 TBBC 
michael.gruenwald@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Ming C. Hammond

Biosensors for live cell imaging, high-throughput screening, and synthesis

Phone: 801-213-0892
Office: 224B Crocker Sci Ctr
mingch@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Joel M. Harris

Fluorescence and Raman spectroscopy of liquid/solid interfaces and nanomaterials

Phone: (801) 581-3585
Office: 1304 HEB
harrisj@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Matthew Kieber-Emmons

Bioinorganic reaction mechanisms and bioinspired catalysts

Phone: (801) 587-3185
Office: 3611 TBBC
matthew.kieber-emmons@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Ryan Looper

Strategies and methods for the synthesis of complex molecules as leads for biomedical discovery

Phone: (801) 585-0408
Office: 4424 TBBC
r.looper@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Janis Louie

Discovery and development of transition metal-mediated reactions

Phone: 801-581-7309
Office: 4226 HEB
louie@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Joel S. Miller

Magnetic materials based on inorganic, organometallic, and organic chemistry

Phone: 801-585-5455
Office: 2124 HEB
Email: jsmiller@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Shelley D. Minteer

Enzymatic bioelectrocatalysis, fuel cells, batteries, electrosynthesis

Phone: 801-587-8325
Office: B611 TBBC
minteer@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Valeria Molinero

Computer simulations and statistical mechanics methods to investigate disordered materials

Phone: (801) 585-9618
Office: 4623 TBBC
valeria.molinero@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Michael D. Morse

Gas phase laser spectroscopy of metal and semiconductor clusters and complexes

Phone: (801) 581-8319
Office: 3428 TBBC
morse@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Nagi

Gabe Nagy

Bioanalytical separations, ion mobility spectrometry-mass spectrometry, carbohydrate chemistry

Phone:

Office:

gabe.nagy@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Rodrigo Noriega

Ultrafast laser spectroscopy and single-molecule fluorescence microscopy

Phone: (801) 587-7979
Office: 2428 TBBC
noriega@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Greg Owens

Greg Owens

Teaching
General chemistry

owens@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Aaron W. Puri

Structure, function, and genetic regulation of natural products from underexplored bacteria

Phone: 
Office: 224F Crocker Sci Ctr
a.puri@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Jon D. Rainier

Development of organic and organometallic synthesis of biologically important molecules

Phone: 801-581-4954
Office: 3216 HEB
rainier@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Thomas G. Richmond

New methods of activation and functionalization of carbon-fluorine bonds

Phone: 801-581-7487
Office: 2404 TBBC
T.Richmond@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Andrew G. Roberts

Reaction discovery and design for the  synthesis of small molecules and peptide-based therapeutics

Phone: 801-213-3682
Office: 2210 HEB
roberts@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 


Caroline Saouma

 

Transition-metal mediated small molecule activation CO2 fixation and reduction to methanol

Phone: (801) 585-7335
Office: 3254 HEB

caroline.saouma@utah.edu

Faculty Page

Sushma Saraf
Sushma L. Saraf

 

Teaching
General and organic chemistry lectures, and general chemistry labs

Phone: (801) 585-3419
Office: 1475 GH

s.saraf@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

 

 

 Holly L. Sebahar

 Teaching

Organic chemistry lectures and labs

Phone: (801) 581-6675
Office: 3228 HEB

holly.sebahar@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Jennifer Shumaker-Parry

Nanoparticle synthesis and assembly, plasmonics, interfacial chemical analysis

Phone: (801) 585-1434
Office: 2424 TBBC
shumaker-parry@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Matthew S. Sigman

Discovery and development of catalysts for organic synthesis and enantioselective reactions

Phone: (801) 585-0774
Office: 3210 HEB
sigman@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Peter J. Stang

Supramolecular chemistry. metallacyclic polygons and polyhedra via coordination

Phone: (801) 581-8329
Office: 2214 HEB
Stang@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

Jeff Statler 

Jeffrey A. Statler

Associate Professor
Lecturer

General chemistry

Phone: (801) 581-7288
Office: 1011 HEB
statler@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page


Ryan P. Steele

Quantum theoretical methods for structure and dynamics; studies of catalysts and ions

Phone: (801) 587-3800
Office: 4611 TBBC
ryan.steele@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Jessica SwansonJessica Swanson

Multiscale simulation and modeling of biomolecular and condensed phase systems

Phone: (801) 581-7485
Office: 4613 TBBC
j.swanson@utah.edu

Faculty Page


Thanh N. Truong

Development and application of computational methods for catalysis

Phone: 801-581-4301
Office: 4524 TBBC
Email: truong@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 


Henry White

Henry S. White

Electrochemical methods for the analysis of in biological and nanoscale domains

Phone: (801) 585-6256
Office: B423 TBBC
white@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Luisa Whittaker-Brooks

 

Solid-state synthesis of nanostructures for solar, batteries, and electronics

Phone: (801) 587-9973
Office: 1320A HEB
lwhittaker@chem.utah.edu

Faculty Page

 

Ilya Zharov

 

Nanoporous materials, batteries, fuel cells, polymers, nanoparticles, membranes

Phone: (801) 587-9335
Office: 3416 TBBC
i.zharov@utah.edu

Faculty Page

 


EMERITUS FACULTY

Last Updated: 9/30/20