You are here:

Chemical Hygiene Plan (Safety Manual)

It is the policy of the University of Utah to provide a safe and healthy workplace in compliance with the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) and regulations of the Department of Labor including 29 CFR §1910.1450 “Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Chemicals in the Laboratories”. This requires, amongst other things, the development of a departmental chemical hygiene plan.

You can find the department's Chemical Hygiene Plan below, as well as the Safety and Responsibility Form, Chemical Hygiene Plan Completion Form, and Accident and Near-Miss Reporting Forms below and available for download.


Chemical Hygiene Plan (Safety Manual)

DOWNLOAD

Chemical Hygiene Plan Completion Form - GROUP

DOWNLOAD

Chemical Hygiene Plan Completion Form - INDIVIDUAL

download

Accident and Near-Miss Reporting Form

go there


The safety committee assists the Department Chair with the development and implementation of the Departmental Chemical Hygiene Plan. The committee is also responsible working with OEHS, providing advice and assistance to personnel on various OEHS matters. These include: regular meetings with safety officers from every group, investigating accidents and near misses, administrating a lab inspection program, and recordkeeping of inspection, training, and reports for the department.

Please contact the Safety Committee if you have any questions regarding the above forms or other OEHS matters.

Members of the Chemistry Department Safety Committee (2017)

Holly L. Sebahar, chair (holly.sebahar@utah.edu)

Richard Ernst (ernst@chem.utah.edu)

Jim Muller (jmuller@chem.utah.edu)

Caroline T. Saouma (caroline.saouma@utah.edu)

Agnes Szarzec Larsen (a.szarzec.larsen@utah.edu)

David R. Thomas (d.r.thomas@utah.edu)

Safety Committee Email address: chemsafetycommittee@lists.utah.edu

Last Updated: 8/15/17