Skip to content

Shelley D. Minteer


Distinguished Professor

Dale and Susan Poulter Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry and Associate Chair of Chemistry

Western Illinois University, B.S. in Chemistry 1995
University of Iowa, Ph.D. in Chemistry 2000

Phone: 801-587-8325
Office: B611 TBBC

Research Group
Interfacial & Bioanalytical Chemistry (IBAC)


Activities & Awards

2020 Bioelectrochemistry Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry
2020 University of Utah Distinguished Research Award
2020 Charles N. Reilley Award of the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry
2019 Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry
2019 Grahame Award of the Electrochemical Society
2018 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
2018 American Chemical Society Analytical Division Electrochemistry Award
2015 Luigi Galvani Prize of the Bioelectrochemical Society
2013 Fellow of The Electrochemical Society
2010 Tajima Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry
2008 American Chemical Society St. Louis Award
2008 Scientific American Top 50 Award
2008 Society of Electroanalytical Chemists Young Investigator Award
2006 U.S. Department of Defense Okaloosa Award
2006 Missouri Inventor of the Year Award
2005 Academy of Science of St. Louis Innovation Award


Research Interests

The Minteer Group focuses on improving the abiotic-biotic interface between biocatalysts and electrode surfaces for enhanced bioelectrocatalysis. These biocatalysts include microbial cells, organelles (mitochondria and thylakoid membranes), redox proteins, and oxidoreductase enzymes. We design electrode structures for enhanced flux at electrode surfaces for biosensor and biofuel cell applications. The group utilizes a variety of electroanalytical techniques (linear polarization, cyclic voltammetry, differential pulse voltammetry, differential pulse amperometry), as well as a variety of biological and spectroscopic techniques to accomplish these goals. The group also has an active program in electrocatalysis for synthetic organic electrochemistry.

Shelley Minteer is a director and member of CSOE.


Selected Publications

Last Updated: 7/12/23