Skip to content

Safety

Chemistry Department Safety Committee

The safety committee assists the Department Chair with the development and implementation of the Departmental Chemical Hygiene Plan. The committee is also responsible working with the Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EHS), providing advice and assistance to personnel on various OEHS matters. These include: regular meetings with safety officers from every group, investigating accidents and near misses, administrating a lab inspection program, and recordkeeping of inspection, training, and reports for the department. 

 

Chemistry Department Safety Committee (2020-2021)

Ryan Looper (Chair)

3122 HEB

r.looper@utah.edu

801-585-0408

 

Ryan Deluca

3254 HEB

r.deluca@utah.edu

 

 

James Muller

2611 TBBC

jmuller@chem.utah.edu

801-581-5415

 

Jared Smith 

1302 HEB

jared.s.smith@utah.edu

801-585-7740

 

Andrew Roberts

3170 HEB

roberts@chem.utah.edu

801-213-3682

 

Sarah Morris-Benavides

214 CSC

sarah.morris-benavides@ehs.utah.edu

801-587-0649

 

Aaron Fleming

1628 TBBC

afleming@chem.utah.edu

 N/A

Research Assoc. Prof, Burrows Lab

Kendall Heitmeier

3179 HEB

u1131243@utah.edu

 N/A

Grad Student, Looper Lab

Dakota Merriles

3429 TBBC

u1130765@utah.edu

 N/A

Grad Student,  Morse Lab

Veronica O'Connor

3215 HEB

veronica.oconnor@utah.edu

 N/A

Grad Studen, Sigman Lab

Samantha Walker

3520 TBBC

samantha.walker@utah.edu

 N/A

Grad Student, Armentrout Lab

 

Questions and concerns can be sent to chemsafetycommittee@lists.utah.edu

Click on the Safety tab at chem.utah.edu for the chemical hygiene plan and other resources.

Request access to Chemistry Safety Site on Canvas: Melanie Feeney, melanie.feeney@utah.edu, 801-581-6689, Room 3264 HEB

 

KEY EHS Personnel (2019)

James Stubbs

Associate Director

james.stubbs@oehs.utah.edu

801-585-5788

Anggely Cardenas

Dept. of Chem. Contact

anggely.cardenas@ehs.utah.edu

801-585-9321

Clint Haymond

Fire Marshal

clint.haymond@oehs.utah.edu

801-585-9122

Steve Natrop

Hazardous Materials Manager

steve.natrop@ehs.edu

801-581-5450

OEHS Office

(8:00 am-5:00 pm Mon-Fri)

questions@oehs.utah.edu

801-581-6590

 

Departmental Contact for Maintenance Issues: Craig Erickson, 801-585-3070, HEB 1274

After hours Departmental Contact: Jim Muller, 801-949-1123, TBBC 2611

Facility Operations: 801-581-7221

Bio/Chem/Rad Spills: 801-581-6141

CAMPUS POLICE AND SECURITY (including EHS after hours):

801-585-2677
801-585-COPS

In case of an emergency call 911!

Last Updated: 9/29/21