Skip to content

Main Navigation

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Chemistry

Diversity Header

Our Culture

We, the Department of Chemistry, value and welcome everyone of all backgrounds. We believe that our collective success depends on the robust exchange of ideas — an exchange that is best when the rich diversity of our perspectives, backgrounds, and experiences flourishes.The more perspectives we bring to our department, the more impact and value we will contribute to our communities and society as a whole. We commit to fostering an open environment where we continue to listen to the needs of our students, staff, faculty, and greater scientific community. We endeavor to support our faculty, students, and staff as they do the hard work of identifying and dismantling instances of prejudice and bias. We value all forms of diversity and acknowledge their advancement of science and society.

get involved
Demographics
resources

 

As we move forward towards excellence in ensuring that our values and commitments are implemented to advance diversity, procure equity, and strive for the inclusion of all members in our programs:

a) we created a committee on diversity, equity and inclusion to advocate our culture in the department

b) we enhanced our programs devoted in uplifting our values

c) we will continue to strive harder to champion and celebrate successes of our community from underrepresented and minority groups

 

GET INVOLVED

curie club

Chem SAC

ACSSC

SACNAS
diversity equity inclusion campus
research opportunities

 

Resources

tuition and fees
dreamers
Diversify Chem 
Latina
Black
500 Queer

 

Diversity, Equity, and inclusion

committee members 

 Diversity Committee

 

 

Lori Digal

Lori Digal

loridigal@gmail.com

 

Erin Gaffney

Erin Gaffney

erin.gaffney@utah.edu

 

Tascha Knowlton

Tascha Knowlton

advisor@chem.utah.edu

Christian Malapit

Christian Malapit

christian.malapit@utah.edu 

Shelley Minteer

Shelley Minteer

shelleyminteer@gmail.com

Rodrigo Noriega

Rodrigo Noriega

Representation of diverse groups at all levels in academia is a crucial matter of equity and social justice; it is also an opportunity for innovation because our ability to recognize important questions and our problem-solving approaches are shaped by our backgrounds.

noriega@chem.utah.edu

Andrew Roberts

Andrew Roberts

Improving and supporting the diversity our department is important. We can work to strengthen an equitable and inclusive environment by encouraging the engagement of our student actions and voices. Active discussion will continue to foster progressive and creative plans for growth and change.

roberts@chem.utah.edu

Sushma Saraf

Sushma Sarah

s.saraf@utah.edu

Holly Sebahar

Holly Sebahar

holly.sebahar@utah.edu

Sigman

Matt Sigman

matt.sigman@utah.edu

Anne

Anne Vivienne

anne.vivienne@utah.edu

 

 

Last Updated: 9/30/20